Collection: Ohio

Ohio State Flag

100% American-made Ohio State flags

On March 1st, 1803 Ohio was granted statehood as the 17th state of the Union. However, due to a slight debacle, Ohio’s state constitution was never ratified in 1803. This went unnoticed for one hundred fifty years until legislation was introduced in 1953 to retroactively grant statehood to Ohio.

While Ohio is only the 34th largest state by area, it is the 10th most densely populated and the 7th most populous state in the US.  Ohio’s Capitol, Columbus, is the 3rd most populous capital city in the US, with a population of around 860,000 according to 2016 estimates.

Aside from its official nickname of the Buckeye State, Ohio has also been nicknamed the Mother of Modern Presidents, after being the birthplace of seven US presidents, including William H. Taft, William McKinley, Ulysses S. Grant, James Garfield, Rutherford B. Hayes, Warren G. Harding, and Benjamin Harrison.

The Ohio State Flag is unique in shape compared to other United State Flags; it is the only non-rectangular shaped state flag but is instead burgee-shaped. The seventeen stars represent the order of statehood, while the large red and white circles in the center of the blue canton represent the State’s name as well as a representation of the Buckeye, after which the state is nicknamed.