Collection: Historic Star Pattern American Flags

Historic Star Pattern American Flags from LIBERTY FLAGS, The American Wave®

Before 1818, there were only two version of official U.S. flags. The first is the 13-star, 13-stripe version that is often referred to as the Betsy Ross flag. The second is the 15-star, 15-stripe version that was adopted by Congress and President George Washington in 1794 (recognizing Vermont and Kentucky), better known as the Star Spangled Banner.

In April of 1818, Congress passed the Flag Act of 1818. This act established three long-standing, important, and stabilizing tenets.

  1. The number of stripes will be 13, alternating red and white.
  2. The number of stars will be equal to the number of states in the Union.
  3. The effective date of any new version of the U.S. Flag will be the July 4th following a new state's admission.

Of course, every official American flag is still a legal flag and may be flown at any time. LIBERTY FLAGS, The American Wave® is pleased to offer all of the historic official star pattern American flags. Each flag is made to order, and ships in 6-7 weeks.