Alaska State Flag

100% American-made Alaska State Flags

Alaska became the 49th state of the Union on January 3, 1959 when President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed the bill allowing Alaska to become a state. Alaska is the largest but most sparsely populated, and third least-populated of all 50 states in the US. 

Alaska was purchased from the Russian Empire on March 30, 1887 for two cents per acre for a total of $7.2 million. Alaska became an organized US territory on 1912 and remained so until January 3, 1959. 

The State Flag of Alaska was originally designed in 1927 by 13-year old Benny Benson of Seward Alaska and selected from among roughly 700 entries in a contest for children in grades seven through 12. The contest was sponsored by the Alaska Department of the American Legion more than 30 years prior to Alaska officially becoming a state. 

The Alaska State Flag is a seemingly simple design of eight gold stars on a dark blue background. The seven smaller stars form the big dipper, a constellation in Ursa major which symbolizes a bear. The stars in the Big Dipper can be used to find Polaris, or the North Star, which is symbolized in the flag by the largest of the eight stars.

Always 100% American-made American Flags, from LIBERTY FLAGS, The American Wave®