You Are Not Forgotten

“You Are Not Forgotten” is the central phrase of the POW/MIA remembrance movement which honors America's prisoners of war, those who are still missing in action, and their families. We remember and honor our American soldiers year-long, but there is one special day set aside to and honor our American Prisoners of War and those missing in action.  

National POW/MIA Recognition Day

National POW Recognition Day is observed annually on the third Friday of September to honor and commemorate the sacrifices and commitment of America’s prisoners of war, those soldiers who are still missing in action, and their families.

Although POW/MIA Recognition Day is not a federal US holiday, it is a national observance. Many veterans and families fly the POW/MIA Flag from Residential Flagpoles, while businesses and government buildings may fly larger flags from large-scale Commercial Flagpoles. All military installations fly the National League of Families’ POW/MIA Flag along with the American Flag.

The POW/MIA Flag

In 1971, Mrs. Michael Hoff, the wife of a US officer listed as missing in action during the Vietnam War, contacted a local flag company with the idea to create a flag that would remind Americans of US Service members who were never accounted for. The POW/MIA Flag was designed by former WWII pilot, Newt Heisley.  

Congress passed U.S. Public Law 101-355 on August 10, 1990, designating the POW/MIA Flag:

“The symbol of our Nation’s concern and commitment to resolving as fully as possible the fates of Americans still prisoner, missing and unaccounted for in Southeast Asia.”

This year, Americans pause to observe National POW/MIA Recognition Day on Friday, September 21, 2018.

Related: POW/MIA Flags & Gear

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published